The Armour Of God

Power Armour

 📖 Verse 4 2day ~ Ephesians 6:10-18

 The Armour of God 

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

My Thoughts 💭 
Each morning I like to pray the armour of God prayer to ask God to equip me for the day. When not in prayer, and when I hear the words armour of God my mind shoots back to the image above, which is my fave armour (T51b Power Armour) from the Playstation 3 game Fallout 3. 

I know that video games get a lot of negative abuse, but I would just like to share this with you. No i’m not losing sight of reality, please bear with me. 😀

A little about Fallout 3 

Fallout 3 is an action role-playing open world video game developed by Bethesda Game Studios. It is the third major instalment in the Fallout series. . Fallout 3 takes place in the year 2277, 36 years after the setting of Fallout 2 and 200 years after the nuclear apocalypse that devastated the game’s world in a future where international conflicts between the USA and China culminated in a Sino-American war in 2077, due to the scarcity of petroleum reserves that ran the economies of both countries. more on Wikipedia.

The game is based around Washington DC (the Capital Wasteland). The player faces all kinds of moral choices, situations, people, mutants and feral l ghouls (and worse), as he tries to find his father and the truth. As you encounter more powerful enemies without much armour yourself, you keep wishing that you will find the location of the power armour (see image above). The game (like life) is full of choices,  you can choose to do good or you can choose to do bad, and the consequences of these choices send ripples throughout the game and change the way people receive you.

My point…… 

 For us to stand any chance of surviving against the devil’s schemes, powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms, we MUST choose to put on the spiritual armour. Unlike the game we know the location of this armour is in prayer. 

Ready…..Aim..…Pray!

 Each and every morning I urge you to pray on the literal Armour of God Ephesians 6 (as listed above). Take a moment and carefully consider the power, purpose and reality of each piece as you put it on. Whether you pray this prayer or a prayer like it, make it a daily routine that you take seriously.

🙏 Prayer 4 2day! 

“Lord, please help me this day put on the Full Armour of God.

Help me put the Helmet of Salvation on my head that I might always remember I am saved, and who I belong to, that my mind is guarded in Christ Jesus, and that I may have the mind of Christ and that I may think the thoughts of Christ and reject all others.

Help me put the Breastplate of Righteousness on so that I may walk about in Righteousness and others may see your Righteousness in me, and that my heart is guarded in Christ Jesus, and that I may have the desires of Christ and reject all others.

Help me keep the Belt of Truth securely buckled on my waist, that I may always be secure in the knowledge of the Truth and always speak the Truth.

Help me fit my Feet with the Readiness that comes from the Gospel of Peace, that I may stand firm in the Gospel, and spread the Gospel of Peace wherever I go.

Help hold the Shield of Faith with which to extinguish the flaming arrows of the evil one, strengthen my arm and help me hold it high, that I may use it to protect myself, my family, my household and those under my care, and help me use the Shield of Faith to press ahead and push forward for the kingdom of God.

And Lord, help me take up the Sword of The Spirit which is the Word of God, and use it every day, help me us it to protect myself and others from the evil one through the power and authority of Your Word, and to strike the hearts and minds of those who do not know You calling them towards repentance and salvation, help me use Your Word – the Sword of the Spirit – to cause those who know you but are backslidden to repentance, obedience and service, and to help awaken those who know you, but are asleep so they may obey and serve you, and please help me use your Word to bring, encouragement, strength and wisdom to the Remnant of God through your Word.

Help me serve you this and every day. Please use me Lord. These things I ask in the Name of Jesus Christ.

Amen”

Pryer by Pastor Sikes

 

About Steve

✞Follower of Christ, Husband, Guitarist, Drummer, Photographer, Health & Fitness advocate....Oh and i'm also Blind too! 😀

8 Responses to “The Armour Of God”

  1. I once went to a women’s conferance where speaker, Beth Moore, gave us a visual to help us remember God’s armor. Hold out your hand in front of you in a fist. Starting with your thumb, raise it as you say my helmet of salvation, move to the next finger-my breastplate of righteousness, next finger-my belt of truth, next-my shoes of peace and as you raise your pinkie, lift your hand high for this is your shield of faith. Gives me chills every time! God has equipped us with all we need, we just have to put it on! Blessings friend 🙂

  2. Love this! Verses that we often forget about, but really need to keep in mind! Great job breaking it down and explaining it 🙂

    • Thanks so much. I was a little worried about publishing this post with the Fallout theme, but they say write about the things you know and i grew up with computer games and this one really just came to me. I am glad it made some kind of sense in the end. Also the armour of God verses was the first real verses that revealed the works of the evil one and how i used to act in my pre Christian days and how we still need to protect ourselves especially now we have the devil’s full attention for choosing not to let him control us! 😀

  3. Good post! I pray specifically the part of the model prayer Jesus taught his disciples- “lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil”‘, protect us from harm and evil, cover us with the blood of Jesus (as the Israelites were protected from the death angel) . . .The most important part of the armour is the weapon, the sword, knowing and using the Word of God against Satan and standing on the promises of God.

  4. Absolutely loved this! Yes, we NEED the armour to make it through each day. But sadly, most of us don’t even think about putting it on! This is a wonderful reminder that it is a daily choice to put on this armour. We are in a battle right now and without our armour, we are weak and easily out maneuvered. The enemy with his schemes can easily overcome us if we don’t have our armour on. Thank you for this awesome post!

What's on your mind? Leave a comment below! 😀

-Word- pictures by DLink

Christian Themed Conceptual Art: photography and digital images

Blog of a Type 1

A Journey of a Type 1 Diabetic's Life

The Fathers Feet

Together let's focus on learning from our Father at His feet, as His dear children.

Wandering Canadians

Two Canadians exploring the world

FitBlitz

Do not let what you can’t do obstruct what you can do!

BRB Running

Lisa is running a marathon - Be Right Back

Redeeming Home

Cultivating a Beautiful Home & Life

Popsicle Society

My journey of food, travel and inspiration

Walking Off Pounds

Weight Loss one calorie, one step at a time.

Eat Cake And Run

Running and baking; half marathons and cake